Chapter 5: A Sweet Mystery

Put on your detective hats this week my sweet secrete keepers because we are going to solve the case of Lardy Cake. The first question we need to ask ourselves is what is lardy cake? The answer to that question is… I have no clue. I have never even heard of lard. So, I guess this case will be renamed to the Mysterious Lardy Cake Review.

 When I was making the Lardy Cake recipe, I was shocked to find out about the unusual ingredients involved. For example, apricot jam and vegetable shortening. For starters, when does a recipe use apricot jam? Or any type of jam in general? And what the heck is vegetable shortening? What happened to regular shortening? Are these ingredients the new health trend? If that’s the case, so far this recipe is starting to look questionable. Is it too late to switch recipes?

If you made it this far in this sweet mystery, then you would have already rolled out the dough as well as poured the shortening on top of it. I got to say, the dough looks pretty good. Good enough to eat, but it is starting to look more like a loaf then a cake. The consistency of the dough is soft and firm which is what we wanted in the first place.

As I am finished mixing the Lardy Cake ingredients together, curiosity got the best of me. You know the saying curiosity killed the cat? Well, I can confirm that saying to be true. I tasted the batter, and it was disgusting. The batter tasted like hot butter combine with dried fruit. I hope that when the cake bakes, it will taste better. Stay tune for results down below.

The Lardy Cake is done baking, and I can officially say, this is the worst dessert recipe I have ever made in my life. This cake tastes as squishy as gummy worms, the raisins and cranberries taste like dried ants. Here’s the thing my sweets, I hate gummy worms. I hate anything gummy in general. It makes me want to throw up. As for the raisins and cranberries tasting like ants, well, I hate ants because all they do is scatter around searching for food. Also, when I was three, I ate one, and it did not taste good. What can I say? We all have eaten gross things in our youth.

My final take on this recipe is that I will never make this recipe ever again. I give this recipe a 1 out of 5 starts. The one is for the color of the Lardy Cake. It has a nice golden and flaky texture. Other than that, this recipe has nothing going for it. But if you like dried fruit and cake that tasted like gummy worms, this recipe is for you. Guess we have this sweet mystery wrapped up and THANK GOD! I didn’t more how much of this cake I can stomach. Until next time my sweets.

Join us every week my sweets and remember Shhh..It’s a Sweet Secret!!

Recipe: https://www.marthastewart.com/332954/lardy-cake

Comment below of your thoughts about the Lardy Cake and any ideas on how to improve it.

Comment again if you have as any recipes, you have made that you didn’t like.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started